

Virginia Cybersecurity Planning Committee June 30, 2023, 1 pm 7235 Beaufont Springs Dr, Mary Jackson Boardroom, Richmond, VA, 23225



Call to Order:

A meeting of the Virginia Cybersecurity Planning Committee was called to order at 1:01pm. Mr. Watson welcomed the members.

Presiding:

Michael Watson, Committee Chair, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia IT Agency

Members Present:

Diane Carnohan, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia Department of Education

Robbie Coates, Director, Grant Management and Recovery, VDEM

Michael Dent, Chief Information Security Officer, Fairfax County Department of Information Technology

Brenna R. Doherty, Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Legislative Automated Systems

John Harrison, IT Director, Franklin County

Derek M. Kestner, Information Security Officer, Supreme Court of Virginia

Benjamin Shumaker, Cyber Security Specialist, King William County Government

Beth Burgin Waller, Chair, Cybersecurity and Data Privacy Practice, Woods Rogers Vandeventer Black

Wesley Williams, Executive Director of Technology, Roanoke City Public Schools

Stephanie Williams-Hayes, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia Department of Health

Members Participating Remotely:

Charles DeKeyser, Major, Virginia Army National Guard. Major Dekeyser is on temporary duty from his home base for the National Guard.

Maj. Eric W. Gowin, Division Commander- Information Technology Division, Virginia State Police. Mr. Gowin participated virtually due to work reasons.

Members Not Present:

Aliscia N. Andrews, Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security, Office of the Governor

Adrian Compton, Tribal Administrator, Monacan Indian Nation

Staff Present:

Stephanie Benson, External Communication & Outreach Manager, Virginia IT Agency

Jason Elmore, Deputy Director of Communications, Virginia Department of Emergency Management

Joshua Heslinga, Director of Legal & Legislative Services, Virginia IT Agency

Amy Judd, Records Management and Compliance Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

Mylam Ly, Legal Compliance & Policy Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

Chelsea Oppong, Intern, Virginia IT Agency

Joshua Reynolds, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General

Trey Stevens, Deputy Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia IT Agency

Review of Agenda:

Ms. Oppong provided an overview of the agenda and corresponding items in the digital meeting packets.

Approval of Minutes:

The April meeting minutes were displayed on the screen. Upon a motion by Mr. Shumaker and duly seconded by Ms. Williams-Hayes, the committee unanimously voted to adopt the meeting minutes. The May meeting minutes were displayed on the screen. Mr. Kestner made a motion to amend the adjournment section of the minutes to correct a missing prefix, this was duly seconded by Ms. Carnohan. Upon a motion by Mr. Harrison and duly seconded by Mr. Kestner, the committee unanimously voted to adopt the meeting minutes.

Communications plan

Mr. Elmore presented a draft communication plan prepared for the cybersecurity grant. Ms. Carnohan requested clarification on reaching out to schools. Ms. Waller suggested reaching out to school associations. Mr. Harrison offered the VaLGITE listserv. Mr. Watson discussed adding an FAQ for the localities. There was a discussion on how best to reach other parties and to identify eligible entities. Mr. Coates discussed notifying state agencies to work with localities if they are interested in the grant. Additional groups identified during the discussion included seven federally recognized tribes.

Cybersecurity Plan

Mr. Watson briefly reviewed the cybersecurity plan. He discussed the timeline and next steps for the plan including a meeting with CISA/FEMA and voting during the July meeting. There was a discussion on protecting the information that is shared with the planned VA-ISAC. Additionally, members were informed that the plan and associated documents were public and as such can be shared with advisors and stakeholders for comment.

Year 1 priorities and guidelines

This document was left out of the meeting packet; it was posted to regulatory town hall and provided to committee members during the meeting.

Mr. Watson reviewed the document and discussed the objectives for the year 1 priorities. There was a discussion on MFA for the applicants and the feasibility of implementing a program for localities, meeting metrics and ranking priorities by items that make the biggest impact across the board. Mr. Coates asked if there was a desire to make the application competitive, which will allow a way to differentiate or score the projects. The committee reviewed the example page of suggested technology and known contract vehicles. The committee requested feedback be given to localities on where they are in the queue. The committee discussed providing technical assistance if a locality is not selected during this cycle.

Public Comment Period:

Carl Dodson from CAS spoke on regional SOCs.

Other Business:

Mr. Watson opened the floor for other business. Ms. Ly discussed travel forms.

Adiourn

Upon a motion by Mr. Dent and duly seconded by Ms. Waller, the committee unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting 2:39pm.